Australia is an amazing country having a diverse geography and culture. There are six states and ten territories. Each one has its unique culture, attractions, and laws are the different as well.

pexels hugo heimendinger 1766215
The Australian Flag


What Is a State Vs a Territory?

Are you confused about the difference between a state and territory in Australia? The main difference between state and territory parliaments is where they get their powers to make laws. Each state has its own constitution, which lists the powers of that state’s parliament, including the ability to make laws. The territories do not have their own constitutions.

What Are the States of Australia?

The six states of Australia are:

  1. New South Wales
  2. Victoria
  3. South Australia
  4. Queensland
  5. Western Australia
  6. Tasmania.

Diversity of the Stats of Australia

Each state has its unique and delicate history, culture, and attraction. Some have been the business and corporate hub, while some are known for their diversified wildlife, landscape, beaches, and mountains. Each state, has its capital city and is responsible for various aspects of administration, including education, healthcare, and law enforcement. The state governments and parliament work independently from the federal government. Considering the needs and demands of states’ residents, they have unique laws, policies, and regulations. However, these six states work together to form a larger and unified Australia and play important roles in the functioning of the federal government.

History and Attractions of the States

New South Wales

New South Wales is the oldest state of all, which was established as a British penal colony in 1788. It is now the largest and most populous state in Australia.


On the other hand, Victoria was established in 1851 during a gold rush and is famous for its rich cultural heritage and lively cities.

South Australia

South Australia was established as a free colony in 1836 and is known for the most picturesque landscape in Australia.


The state was established in 1859 and is popular for the tropical climate and diverse geography, including the Great Barrier Reef.

Western Australia

Established in 1901, Western Australia – is the largest state by area, with an enriched history of mining and agriculture.


Finally, Tasmania, established in 1856, is widely known for its rugged wilderness and unique wildlife.

What Are the Territories of Australia?

The territories don’t have their own constitutions. The Australian Constitution gives authority to the Australian parliament to make laws for the territories.

The ten territories of Australia are:

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • The Northern Territory
  • Jervis Bay Territory, and
  • And seven other external territories, mostly island territories.

Diversity of the Territories of Australia

The Australian Capital Territory (ACT) is the largest of all territories, and is home to Australia’s capital, Canberra. Northern Territory is a large and sparsely populated region located in the center of Australia. It is famous for its stunning landscape and wildlife.

The ACT and Northern Territory both are directly governed by the federal government. Jervis Bay Territory, primarily used as a naval base, is also governed by the federal government. The seven other external territories are mainly composed of island territories. Despite their differences, all territories play a significant role in the larger story of Australia and contribute to the nation’s diverse landscape and rich heritage.

Australia has a lot to offer – from stunning landscapes to diverse cultures. All the states and territories have something special in character, making the country a true destination for travellers. Australia is a place where memories are made to last a lifetime. So pack your bags, grab your camera, and let the adventures begin!

hey, I’m Alina!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *